top of page

Giuliano Rosati


Surprise, surprise, I’m back for one more blog! Our final blog post of 2016, so bittersweet. The last guest to get a blog post is of course, another Web Design grad, Giuliano Rosati. Though he only graduated 2 years ago, Giuliano has years of experience in the design industry and wanted to teach us what he learned from his mistakes. Ultimately, he stressed that you must find the job that’s right for you, or you’ll never be quite happy. Working his way up quickly once he found the right place, Giuliano is now the User Experience and Creative Lead at Design Lab, as well as the boss of 3 Web Design grads from last year.

His LinkedIn reads

“I’m a designer specializing in print, web and a little UX too. I’ve been practicing my craft since 2010 and currently work in Toronto, Canada. I’m always excited to learn new things, better myself and grow.”

Education

Seneca College - Graphic Design

Sheridan College - Post Graduate in Web Design

Work History

Rain43 | 2011

SNAP Newspaper Group Inc. | 2011 - 2013

Design Lab Inc. | 2013 - Present

 

Culture and Fit

Culture is the set of shared attitudes, values, goals, and practices that characterizes an institution, organization, or group. Giuliano took some time to explain why none of his graphic design jobs had ever worked out before ending up at Design Lab. “If I had taken the time to think about what I needed or wanted, I’d be much further ahead I think. You don’t grow when you just take the work that no one else wanted”

After finding he didn’t belong anywhere he was working, he contacted a friend from Seneca and got the newspaper job at SNAP that he liked a lot more. He was finally working with other designers and a good, big team. Unfortunately, the workplace culture was poor, putting a lot stress on the employees to spit out 200 newspaper ads each month. Becoming discouraged, he considered giving up design for good and going into roof topping at his mom’s company.

Instead, he returned to school for Web Design, and found himself in his perfect fit.

“Mistakes I Made”

  1. The Work - I didn’t care who the clients were when I first started working because I was so eager to start designing. I didn’t think that I might not enjoy designing for specific clients like the Ontario Government or Dell Computers. Look into the clients the agency does work for, as well as the work that’s been done for them. Can you see yourself working on projects for those brands?

  2. Questions - I didn’t ask enough questions. During my interviews I should have asked what working at these places would be like. Is it a collaborative environment or more of an “on your own” workplace? What does the team do for fun? What work would you be having me do? How many people will I work with/report to?

  3. The Tour - Ask for a tour of the space. If you don’t like the environment, don’t work there. If they won’t show you the space, that’s a huge red flag right there.

  4. Think About Your Future - I didn’t think about where I wanted to be as I grew at a company. At the time, I just wanted to design. At Design Lab, you can grow into different roles easily. I grew into a much larger UX role because I found that I love solving problems.

  5. Be Social - MAYBE I wasn’t social enough at my other jobs. When I was a contractor, I never truly felt like I was part of the team. I felt more like hired help (like someone you call to fix something in your home, a plumber perhaps). Spend time with people you work with. Get to know them. You work better with friends. Make some effort to engage them with something other than work.

Design Lab

Giuliano’s current job includes clients such as The Beer Store, Diamond Aircraft, Smythe, Revera, Sarah Richardson Design, and Vertica Resident Services. When he first got the position after graduating as the Lead Designer, he was asked to redesign and code the company website. A lot of responsibility right away! He knew that this job was different from the other ones that he had worked. They clearly have a sense of respect and trust at this firm. In fact, since being promoted, Giuliano has passed on the task of a redesign once again to last years Sheridan grads. In addition to the great work environment, Design Lab also works hard to promote fun in the firm, taking the employees snowmobiling, to launch parties, the edge of the CN Tower, island cottages, and Raptors games, just to name a few.

Some Advice for Web Design

Give it your best; the designers that come out of this program are highly sought after. Make sure that each piece in your portfolio something you’re proud of. Help each other. You never know where you’ll all end up in the future. Finally, don’t give up. It’s going to get a lot tougher but it’ll be the grad show before you know it.

 

Giuliano’s visit came from a different perspective than most of our guests this semester. While I’ve noticed a trend of failure and getting back on your feet, no one really spoke much about the personal mistakes and doubt they had felt before entering this program. I think all of us students can admit to feeling that same way. It was nice to hear that it really does get better if you are persistent and willing to search for your perfect fit.

So I leave you now, my incredibly large and loyal following of course, with a simple Happy Holidays. I’ll talk to you all in the New Year!

If you’d like to know more about Giuliano, check out his LinkedIn, Design Lab for future projects, his Personal Portfolio, and check out his Instagram!

Want to get in contact directly?

Send him an email at gr@designlab.net


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page