top of page

And We're Back!


Finally, we have all returned from a much needed holiday and are ready to get back to blogging for 2017! I hope my many, many readers enjoyed their break from my endless babbling but hey, the vacay is over.

To begin this new semester of blogging, the Web Design students reconvened on our first Friday back to reflect on the first semester of work. We’re talking assignments, goals, and grad show!

 

So what has everyone had to say about their last 4 months at Sheridan? Some of the folks we heard from included Dylan, Gene, and Anya. Each person in our class showcased an assignment that they wanted to reflect on and their thoughts. To get things started, Dylan took the lead. Like most of us with our own work, he cringed every once and awhile at some of his choices, starting with, “really hate this homepage going back now.” Even so, he had lots of feedback for himself, both negative and positive. All in all, we can agree that these were great stepping stones, and considering he showcased his first web build, it had a lot going for it, “overall aesthetically I really like this, and I really liked the way this footer came out.” While yes, “the site itself is too big so my javascript doesn’t load in on 13” screens” he enjoyed the process. “I spent a very long time coming up with 30 different paint names, that was my favourite part.” Finally, he left off with a note about some new web issues we will be focusing on this semester, “and as beautiful as it is, I’ve learned that it’s completely unaccessible.”

Next up, Gene! No underdog in this program, the Web Design students know that he is a force to be reckoned with, and also a great help when you’re stuck in a rut. Gene took us through the process he went through to get to the finished version of his paint company website, his first finished build. Now most of the students have seen this site, in fact, I refer to it sometimes for inspiration and just to show outsiders what I could be capable of eventually, so the look behind the scenes was really interesting for all of us. We learned that Gene had made a few concept changes, juggling the scandinavian style with french country. Overall, his finished scandi style site is beautiful. His final comment was about his own insecurity, which we can all relate to, “the building was the hardest part, because I didn’t know if I was doing it the right way, if there is one.”

Lastly, Anya gave us a peek into her thoughts behind her final project for last semester. “Design wise I think it was one of my favourite ones. Of course after you’re done doing it, you don’t like it as much anymore.” We can all relate, as it’s easy to grow out of things as we improve our skills. This leads us into our second and final semester of Web Design. We’re already hard at work, 3 weeks in, on our Independent Projects to be featured at our grad show. Currently in the wireframe and branding process, we have a long way to go and a lot of other assignments along the way. Tiny Homes, pastries, and vinyl are among some of the sites to be designed for and they won’t design themselves!

My own assignment to reflect on was my final project for last semester, for a fictional outdoor yoga company based in California. Camp Yoga is probably one of my favourite designs yet, but there is always much room for improvement. There are a couple javascript glitches that I still have to work through and I hope to get the empty pages built for my portfolio, but all in due time.

On that note, I’ll leave links to all the mentioned work below. For now, there’s some app designing to be done and a logo to be finessed. The days are ticking down to graduation and the “real world” and I am bubbling with fear and excitement. Stay tuned to hear all about my web exploits and a little catch up on all the amazing guest speakers we get to hear from in 2017.

Toodaloo!

 

Dylan - Stckpnt

http://webdesign.sheridanc.on.ca/~bobierd/stckpnt/

Gene - Naturewall

http://webdesign.sheridanc.on.ca/~nikolove/naturewallpaints/

Anya - Borealis

http://webdesign.sheridanc.on.ca/~hamman/anya_borealis/

Gillian - Camp Yoga

http://webdesign.sheridanc.on.ca/~alexangi/camp_yoga/


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
bottom of page